Fun in the Sun, the Sun Smart Way

Sun SmartIt’s time for another sun safety reminder! Yes, I’ve become that annoying friend who always says, “Don’t forget sunscreen”, “Let’s find a shady spot”, and “You should ask your GP about a skin check”. But this reminder a much more exciting. I’ve teamed up with my life long friend, who’s also an amazing photographer, Kieran Darcy, to share the sun safety message. Kieran was especially supportive and surprisingly inspired during my melanoma diagnosis. So when she asked to collaborate on a sun safety themed photo shoot, I couldn’t help but say, “OF COURSE!” And now that we can share the finished product, I can’t help but give Kieran a big THANK YOU!

The photo shoot took place at my favourite spot in the whole world, Georgian Bay, in Lake Huron, Canada. It’s a place where we’ve both spent many days of our youth under the summer sun. Every summer before this, since I was a baby, I would have either played or lounged in the sun, for the most part without any sun protection. I now honestly regret my audacity for the sun.

What also made this photo shoot special was Kieran not only captured great photos of their own, but the subtly that sun safety can be. You would be surprised how easily sun safety can transition into your everyday life. For example, we still enjoyed some fun in the sun, but under the shade of a tree and during sunset, when the sun is least strong. Additionally, instead of prancing around in my itsy bitsy bikini, I kept covered with my favourite go-to sarong and sunhat. But what you can’t see in these photos is that my body and face are slathered in SPF 50 sunscreen, even under my makeup.

I hope you keep this in mind during the upcoming summer. Though melanoma is scary, sun safety doesn’t have to be. We all have the capacity to form a healthier relationship with the sun. Not only am I an example of this, but my friends and family are as well, who delightfully informed me during my recent trip home that they decided to be more sun smart after hearing my melanoma story. How heart warming is that?! Look below for all the amazing photos from Kieran and check out @kierandarcyphoto for more inspiring photos.Sun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartSun SmartPhotos by Kieran Darcy.

One thought on “Fun in the Sun, the Sun Smart Way

  1. Great post. And sounds like you had a fab west coast vacation and Georgian Bay visit. I need to revisit your post on packing – soon will be traveling for 2 months with one medium sized suitcase – covering 2 continents, 3 countries, 3 climates, 2 weddings, a cruise, and activites ranging from theatre to rafting. Also carrying gifts for about 6 different people. Yikes!

Leave a comment