5 Things to See and Do in Coffs Harbour

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, AustraliaWhile living in Australia, I strive to see as much as I can in the definite time I have here. My Australian boyfriend often remarks that I’ve seen more than him. My recent trip to Coffs Harbour was one such incident. I’m lucky that my housemate during my study abroad semester in Brisbane EIGHT YEARS AGO (I can’t believe how old we’re getting) is a Coffs Harbour local, and invited our other housemate and I down to “Coffs” (as the locals say) for a long weekend. I’m also very lucky to still call these women friends, which goes to show you good friendships last despite time and location. It was my first time to Coffs, and I honestly felt like a kid in a candy store. I was impressed with the beauty around me, along with so much to do! You’ll want to add Coffs Harbour to your itinerary while exploring the East Coast of Australia after reading this.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, AustraliaSee and Do
Jetty
This is the centre of activity in Coffs. Not only does the Jetty itself offer a nice walk around the harbour, but also expansive views that will make all your Instagram followers jealous. You’ll find a few eateries around the Jetty, along with the Sunday market, and the beach is perfect for cooling off in the summer heat.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, AustraliaMuttonbird Island
One morning we laced up our runners and challenged ourselves to walk Muttonbird Island. It essentially looks like a large hump at the end of the Jetty. With one paved path running from one end of the Island to the other, when there’s an up, there’s always a down. The struggle uphill was worth it for the view at the end of the path. And depending what time of year you visit, you might see baby muttonbirds nesting along the path.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, AustraliaSawtell
This town located next to Coffs Harbour is a favourite among many locals, with a cute main road just blocks away from the beautiful beach. We often stopped here for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, only to walk off our full bellies along the beach.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, AustraliaBellingen
I’ve never been to a small town like this one before. My art history nerdy side came out as I marvelled at the architecture of the various buildings lining the main road. Perfectly intermixed among some of Australia’s oldest shop fronts, you’ll find art deco, as well as mid-century modern buildings. My favourite was the Hammond & Wheatley shop, but the scenic 20 minute drive through the hinterland was enough to make we want to return.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, AustraliaNever Never Creek in the Promised Land
The locals might be upset that I’m sharing this secret spot of theirs, so proceed with caution. The location lives up to the name. Take a 15-minute drive from Bellingen and be transported into a land only thought to exist in fairy tales. That’s all I’ll say, you’ll have to see it for yourself.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, AustraliaEat
Old John’s (Coffs Harbour): Located just down the road from the Jetty, good for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I particularly like their wall of doors!
Latitude 30 (Coffs Harbour): Go here for the best view from the Jetty at sunset with a few drinks and nibblies in hand.
Café TREEO (Sawtell): A local favourite for breakfast, making us return for more!
Sea Salt Fish & Chips (Sawtell): Another local favourite, serving Australia’s version of fish and chips. Trust me it’s good!
Franks Bar and Restaurant (Sawtell): A art deco inspired diner, best for sharing pizza and sangria.
5 Church Street (Bellingen): An eclectic establishment known for live music, and yummy food and drinks.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, AustraliaGo
Coffs Harbour is located about half way between Sydney and Brisbane on the East Coast of Australia, about five hours drive in either direction, making this an ideal overnight or two stop on an East Coast road trip. Alternatively, Coffs Harbour Airport operates a few flights daily to Sydney and Melbourne.Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia

Leave a comment